Official: Madoff son found dead in NYC apartment – Yahoo! News

Official: Madoff son found dead in NYC apartment – Yahoo! News.

The sins of the fathers ….  The rains just keep on coming, beating relentlessly upon this family.  To wit:  Two years to the day the brothers (Mark and Andrew)  confessed that their father confessed his sins to them, Bernard Madoff’s eldest son, Mark Madoff, another father, swindles his own son out of a fortune, the father’s own life.  The father who robbed him by robbing others still lives – a dead life.  Even worse than the ENRON debacle, I suggest this thief brought low many more, great and small, sort of like a Black Monday, or a Great Depression.  He caused many, including charities, to fall by the wayside, and others to fall close to it.

Even a millionaire (or maybe a billionaire) committed suicide because Madoff caused him to lose millions.  That is only one of many repercussions of having fallen for this swindler’s lies.  The way out of this, I suggest, is self-forgiveness.  When he began this dark adventure, probably he never thought his portentous acts would touch his own home as ominously as surely he knew he would be disrupting others’ homes and lives.  But he did – even worse.  He still lives to “ponder on this”:  A hundred and 50 years would be a very good time-frame, I suggest.

Mark Madoff escaped all this in his own way, which was the gravest loss.  Now his children will have to find a way to cope with living, hopefully better than he did.   I really think it is so odd that the man’s children did NOT know anything about what their dad was doing right under their noses, since they worked for the company for so long.  But I suggest that to be charged for not knowing, or for profiting absent-mindedly from being the sons of a crook, for example, is to say they should have been psychic or something.  If they truly did not know about the Ponzi scheme, that could cause self-condemnation for lack of intuition or awareness of something beside high-living.  Still, it is a very sobering weight on anyone’s shoulders.  Bernie Madoff’s confession that he acted alone in this scheme did not help his sons though.  Nobody believes him or they don’t care to.

Times like these reveal how family is such a great asset in anyone’s life.  In reality, family is the buffer or haven from the effects of all kinds of tragedies.  But this is not the case for this family.  Their own Greek tragedy serves to splinter, not coalesce, the family.  The sins of the father have served to divide sons from their mother, husbands from wives, children from their own name.  After they turned dad in, they have had no communication with either parent.   Mothers are so effective with their children in times of tragedy.  It is too bad they have been robbed of that affection and influence.  Everybody is silent.

Further, this splintering has served to drive home that Judas is not the ONLY name people in the world would want to avoid giving their children.  In an effort to spare them from a life of, really a terror and a horror, for having a Judas-like name, Mark Madoff’s wife petitioned the court to allow her to change her name and the names of their two children to Morgan.    Here’s hoping, they all will use Time as a healer; that they not run from them, but find constructive ways to cope with the sins of their fathers.  A life is worth too much to waste.  Madoff made-off with lots of money, but that evil turned in upon him, and the innocents.   Hopefully, they will begin to band together and slay the dragon.

About marymhm

I'm a 64-year-old mother of two daughters (my older daughter is deceased), four grandsons, and three great-granddaughters. I'm a born-again Christian Theosophist and don't apologize for being a Spiritual rather than a fanatically religious person, which I am not. There is a difference and it is very evident in some peoples' lives. I love walking, music, words, and dance. When I was a very young girl, I knew I was not of this world because I was told I wasn't, and the things I do today I was told I would do them. I work toward them every day. I will soon be a college graduate in Sociology, and if I live long enough I will finish my intended Master's program in Social Psychology, and after that, my doctorate in Divinity, which was the first impetus. But being divinely guided I must finish the preparatory assignments given me from on High. My philosophy? God is Love. Love is not all God does but that is all he is in essence. Amen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

