STEPHEN COLBERT SPEAKS TO CONGRESS ON IMMIGRATION – VIDEO

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/09/24/stephen-colbert-hearing-v_n_737813.html

S. COLBERTS SPEAKS TO CONGRESS. I’m glad Colbert brought made someone think & possibly mad.   He is a very funny guy and I like him.  When he talked about being bent over picking veggies, I know what he means.  I grew up in the days of picking cotton, missing lots of school.  Bending over all day hurt my back as a youngster.  I have a deteriorating spine today.  I believe it started back then.  I’ve picked corn at harvest time, long rows with seemingly no end; just like the cotton rows.

Before technology took over, my siblings and I had to clean out chicken houses, instead of going to school.  The terrible ammonia  and dust we breathed are a lasting reminder of that kind of work.  I was glad when we lost that job because chicken-house owners started using automatic cleaners whatever they were.  I didn’t care.

I know how the workers who do those kinds of hard  tasks feel.  I have always been sorry that they are exploited as they are in America.  It is a sin against fairness.  The rich people, farmers among them, who gripe about illegal immigrants today, started the whole thing when they decided to bypass Americans whom they knew they would have to pay higher wages.  They sneaked in  the ones whom they could exploit.  Then it got out of hand, illegal immigrants started sneaking themselves in.

About marymhm

I'm a 64-year-old mother of two daughters (my older daughter is deceased), four grandsons, and three great-granddaughters. I'm a born-again Christian Theosophist and don't apologize for being a Spiritual rather than a fanatically religious person, which I am not. There is a difference and it is very evident in some peoples' lives. I love walking, music, words, and dance. When I was a very young girl, I knew I was not of this world because I was told I wasn't, and the things I do today I was told I would do them. I work toward them every day. I will soon be a college graduate in Sociology, and if I live long enough I will finish my intended Master's program in Social Psychology, and after that, my doctorate in Divinity, which was the first impetus. But being divinely guided I must finish the preparatory assignments given me from on High. My philosophy? God is Love. Love is not all God does but that is all he is in essence. Amen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to STEPHEN COLBERT SPEAKS TO CONGRESS ON IMMIGRATION – VIDEO

  1. marymhm says:

    I would love car rims if I had a car, that’d mean I had transpo.

Leave a Reply

