Sanskrit MEDITATION: Help to Heal; Heal to Help

Samskruta MouktikaaH: September 15th

TRUE.   But more humbling still is to see these things and not just be glad it’s not you, but to seek to ASSIST the one less fortunate than yourself.  For example, a bare-footed man can help a footless man hobble along to somewhere he possibly cannot go on his own.  Similarly, if I’m feeling badly about something and I see my baby in distress, or a child lost and scared, or an old person lamenting about things that hurt him, I would not want to just console myself that I’m better off.

I’d either 1) help that person while wiping my own tears; thus mingling my tears with his whereby we become one big cry together, that’s consolation, not for myself, but for my brother who knows I care.  Or 2)  I’d forget my tears, I hope, so I could not only hold another while we cry together, but get up and do something to alleviate that person’s pain.  To me that is humbling, because Love Is a doer of the work and not a hearer only.  Either way, I feel if I could do that for someone, it is taking my eyes off myself and looking out for someone else.

Like a poet told God that light and darkness are all the same to him (somewhere in Ps 139, I believe; someone please correct me if I’m wrong), so pain and pleasure should be a condition like that of an even-balanced see-saw.  I think the Buddhist texts say that if we seek to be too happy, we will be just that sad when sadness comes (a good analogy, I suggest, is the BI-POLAR affliction, which must have medication to help it cope effectively.  THIS POEM says to me, “don’t be overmuch happy or sad, but be even-minded,”  (The Christian Bible tells us to seek to be even minded, so we can pray.)  All this is out of one or other of the Scriptures.   Thank you for making me think and bless you.

About marymhm

I'm a 64-year-old mother of two daughters (my older daughter is deceased), four grandsons, and three great-granddaughters. I'm a born-again Christian Theosophist and don't apologize for being a Spiritual rather than a fanatically religious person, which I am not. There is a difference and it is very evident in some peoples' lives. I love walking, music, words, and dance. When I was a very young girl, I knew I was not of this world because I was told I wasn't, and the things I do today I was told I would do them. I work toward them every day. I will soon be a college graduate in Sociology, and if I live long enough I will finish my intended Master's program in Social Psychology, and after that, my doctorate in Divinity, which was the first impetus. But being divinely guided I must finish the preparatory assignments given me from on High. My philosophy? God is Love. Love is not all God does but that is all he is in essence. Amen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sanskrit MEDITATION: Help to Heal; Heal to Help

  1. Rashmi says:

    There is a typo in this title. It is ‘sanskrit’ with a ‘k’ not ‘c’. Nice blog.

Leave a Reply

